Guitar

General Chat
MightyOaksFan
SE

Guitar

Post by MightyOaksFan »

I have been learning to play the guitar for a few years now. My question however is what kind of guitar should I get. If just learning should I just get a cheap one or should I get a good one to learn on. Suggestions where to buy are appreciated.
Thanks

OZZIEOHIO
SEOPS HO

Re: Guitar

Post by OZZIEOHIO »

If your looking for a used one, you can find all different types at the flea markets in the area. Try 23 south bound on the weekend.

Joe Strummer
Freshman Team

Post by Joe Strummer »

Buy the very best guitar you can afford. A well built, easy-to-play instrument speeds up the learning process. You will put in more hours practicing if the guitar sounds good and is easy on your fretting hand. Plus, if you decide guitar is not your thing, a good guitar will have higher re-sale value than a cheap one so you will get more of your money back.

As far as "most guitar for the dollar" try Yamaha and Carvin. Also check out instrument reviews on Acoustic Guitar Magazine's web site. As for purchasing, see Musicians Friend.com and Carvin.com. Great customer service and return policies.

RiverRatZap
SEOPS

Post by RiverRatZap »

For what it's worth, I started learning guitar on an acoustic way back when. It made playing an electric that much easier, for me anyway.

As far as what to buy, I'd take Joe Strummer's advice. The first electric guitar I bought was a Kramer for around $550 when I was 16. Sold many baseball cards to get the money.

seofan_via_dublin
SEOP

Post by seofan_via_dublin »

Learn on an acoustic.

I worked at Guitar Center in Columbus for 2 1/2 years.
My best advise, go to a store and sit and play several guitars,
find out which one feals the most comfortable, and sounds nice to your ear.
Get that one.

Don't worry about getting a Martin, Taylor, or Gibson right now. Unless you have the
budget to do so. (If you do, get a Martin. That's just a personal choice though)