2023 Post-season interview with Bloom-Carroll Head Coach Jeremy McKinney

Post by LICKING COUNTY FAN »

Name
Jeremy McKinney

School
Bloom-Carroll

Position
Head Coach

To kick this off, let the readers know the places you have coached and the positions you held at each location.

I’ve been an assistant coach at Fisher Catholic, Fairfield Union, Lancaster, and here at Bloom-Carroll. I’ve coached offensive line, defensive line, wide receivers, and linebackers, and I’ve been both an offensive coordinator and a defensive coordinator. Before this year, I was our Defensive Coordinator and Linebackers coach here at BC.

What were your main concerns entering the 2022 season?
As a first-time head coach, my main concern was making sure we established who we wanted to be as a program and as a team. Having coached for 7 successful head coaches at 4 different schools, I’ve learned a lot and knew who we wanted to be. My primary concern was making sure we embodied that vision as a program.

Which player or players stuck out the most after all two-a-days were completed?
(As an interesting side note, we don’t do two-a-days anymore. We haven’t done them since 2019, and I don’t see us ever going back!)

Three names that stand out as unknowns going into last season when thinking about it are Will Green, Zane Gogolin, and Ethan Thanthanavong. We graduated a tremendously successful senior class, and we had some questions about our offensive line and who would play quarterback. Two seniors, Will and Zane, stepped up more than we thought they could, and Ethan did a tremendous job leading our offense from the quarterback position as a sophomore.

The Bulldogs went 14-2 in 2022 (Great job) of the two losses which team was the hardest to prepare for? Explain.