AAU Question, can Varsity head coaches coach AAU?

knowledge
All Conference

AAU Question, can Varsity head coaches coach AAU?

Post by knowledge »

Trying to clarify this, will probably call the state here later.

4thgoal
SEOPS

Re: AAU Question, can Varsity head coaches coach AAU?

Post by 4thgoal »

Here are a few of the Q&As from the OHSAA website. Basically, only in June/July and a max of 2 players from the previous school season.

If my son or daughter plays on an AAU or Non-Interscholastic team, can I coach them if I am a school coach?
Answer: Only during the June 1 – July 31 period of time. Coaching one’s own players is prohibited outside the season other than those dates and
no exception is provided for families.
But if the General Sports Regulation 8.6 now permits instruction to 4 or less individuals, wouldn’t this permit me to coach my son or
daughter playing on an AAU or Non-Interscholastic team if I am a school coach?
Answer: No, the language of “8.6” permits individual skill instruction when 4 or less are present in all combined facilities. So, even though there may
only be 2 individuals from the same school on an “AAU” team, there are still more than 4 present which would prohibit this outside the season and
outside of June/July.
Can a Junior High coach from my district coach HIGH SCHOOL players in non-interscholastic basketball (such as “AAU”) outside the
season of play?
Answer: Yes…IF the supplemental contract the Junior High coach signs does not require him/her to coach additionally during practice at the high
school level (and most do not stipulate that). Simply look at the contract you sign….and if does not stipulate that, then you ARE permitted to do so.
Can a High School coach from a district coach JUNIOR HIGH players in non-interscholastic basketball (such as “AAU”) outside the
season of play?
Answer: Yes…IF the supplemental contract the High coach signs does not require him/her to coach additionally during practice at the junior high